job application form

starting the “send out truckloads of resumes!” phase of my job hunt. ‘truckloads’ referring to 4, because it’s pretty much do-or-die objective of getting into a big 4 accounting firm. and one of these requires me to fill in an application form, a la job applications to government or statutory boards. i’m pretty much stuck on that, on a philosophical basis.

the said application form is a pretty intrusive questionnaire that quizzes (almost) as deeply as the MINDEF background checks. i have to provide my recent photo, ethnic origin, religion, marital status. i have to provide my kids’ (not that i have any) age, gender, D.O.B, and school/employer. i have to provide my parents’ AND siblings’ age, employer, and job position.

i can’t help but wonder – are they intending to discrimate against people of a certain… type? do they have racial quotas to meet? are they covertly a religious institution?

Leave a comment